Chairs’ statement on the accession of the Republic of India to the Missile Technology Control Regime (MTCR)

Communiqué – Publié le

Indian membership has been thoroughly discussed over the years, ultimately resulting in a consensus decision by all MTCR members to offer India membership in June 2016.

As all formal procedures for membership have now been finalised, the Chairman of the joint Netherlands-Luxembourg Chairmanship of the Missile Technology Control Regime, Ambassador Piet de Klerk (NL), in close consultation with the French MTCR Point of Contact, is pleased to announce today that the Republic of India now formally is the 35th member of the Regime.

The MTCR welcomes India into the Regime, convinced that its membership will strengthen the international efforts to prevent proliferation of delivery systems (ballistic missiles or unmanned aircraft) capable of delivering weapons of mass destruction.

The MTCR looks forward to India’s full participation in the Regime, including the upcoming annual plenary meeting of the MTCR in the Republic of Korea in October 2016.

As of today, the MTCR has 35 members: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Italy, Ireland, Japan, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, the Republic of Korea, the Russian Federation, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, the United Kingdom, and the United States of America.

The Hague, Luxembourg, Paris,

27 June 2016

Communiqué par le ministère des Affaires étrangères et européennes